Confetti Cupcakes: I’m back!

21 Oct

So I know I’ve been rather absent for, oh I don’t know…6 months? But I’m back, and I come bearing confetti cupcakes. I was inspired by procrastination, bad weather and this blog . Expect a few more posts as I delay the agonising studying process. The sugar eases the pain I find.

Sprinkles. So many sprinkles. I was a little disappointed that they weren’t as bright once they were baked, but it was fun all the same.

I slightly adapted the recipe  by using a cream cheese and whipped cream icing.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup milk

1/3 cup sprinkles

Preheat the oven to 176 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add half the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add milk. Once combined, add the remaining dry mixture. Fold in the sprinkles. Pour 2/3 into cupcake tins and bake for 18-20 minutes. Let cool, then ice.

So, for the icing. I’m not a huge fan of butter icing so I settled with cream cheese and whipped cream icing. Sounds weird but it works. You need the following:

  • 1 package of reduced-fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of heavy cream

Combine all the ingredients except for the cream with an electric whisk. Once combined, slowly add the cream while continuing to mix. Stop when the icing can form peaks. Shower with as many sprinkles as your heart desires!

Well there you have it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

