Lavender Cupcakes: Zoe’s Farewell

20 Feb

So about a week ago now, my dear friend Zoe left for exchange to INDIA. We all miss her terribly, but I know that the 2 months will fly by with the help of a few skype calls. On a beautiful day in Cape Town, we all headed out to Kirstenbosch for a farewell picnic. I decided to make my favourite lavender cupcakes for the occasion. Unfortunately, I don’t have a lavender bush. This proves to be a bit of a problem when it comes to making lavender cupcakes. So I decided to mission around Rondebosch with a pair of scissors. Whoever’s newly planted lavender bush I pruned within an inch of its life, I apologize. It was for a good cause, promise.

I got the recipe from Nigella Lawson’s Domestic Goddess.

ingredients:

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 125g self raising flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 125 ml  milk
  • 500g icing sugar
  • about 12 sprigs of lavender

Bring the milk with 6-8 sprigs of lavender to boil in a small saucepan. Before it starts to boil, remove from heat, cover with foil, and leave for 20 minutes. Then strain into a cup and leave for another 10 minutes. For the batter, add all the ingredients except for the milk and blitz until smooth. Pulse while adding 3- 4 tablespoons of milk. Place in cupcake holders and bake for 15- 20 minutes. Let cool.

For the icing, sieve the icing sugar into a bowl and add some of the lavender milk until it reaches a right consistency. I like to cut the tops off my cupcakes so the icing is even. Decorate with some lavender.

Photo courtesy of Alice Torres

love and miss you zo!

Leave a Reply

